Illustration Friday: Monster


I had fun with this one. It gave me a chance to use a pencil.
I thought I was going to go simple and vector, but I just kept sketching and then shading and then well…got tired and here it is.

Please note: The monster portrayed in this illustration is a fictional character and not my daughter.

Please see below, I scanned in the original sketch for this particular piece.

Also feel free to browse: http://www.cafepress.com/tomstuder wher I have made promo postcards and posters of this picture.

In some ways I kinda like the sketch just as much.

    • John Restrepo
    • March 25th, 2006

    i just saw the movie the hills have eyes and your piece reminded me of it, in a nicer way…

    • Rachel
    • March 25th, 2006

    haha i thought about doin my daughter… yours made me laugh! great job!

    • Lou
    • March 25th, 2006

    Great job! I love the disclaimer about it not being your daughter.

    • daniel
    • March 25th, 2006

    oh sweet! that doesn’t remind me of your daughter in the least 😉 Gonna throw any color in it? You could have a whole series of these guys- remember Garbage Pail Kids?

    • AscenderRisesAbove
    • March 25th, 2006

    oh yes… that is exactly what happens to kids who eat too much candy!!

    • stacey m
    • March 26th, 2006

    wow, this is excellent!

    • saul
    • April 21st, 2006

    hmm.. I actually like the sketch more.. but they’re both lots of fun

    • faun
    • April 27th, 2006

    that sketch is adorable. I love her the most.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

